A short story

I Am the Arrow. In my Creative Writing class last fall, the prompt was to write a short story inspired by any Sylvia Plath poem. I sifted through a half-dozen Plath poems and extracted lines that called to me until they formed the shape of a story. The italicized lines are all taken from poems of Plath’s from her last book of poetry, Ariel. The story is my own.

I Am the Arrow

An excerpt of this story was published in Ariston this spring. No reproductions or excerpts without author’s permission.

Leave a Reply

